Women’s Equality Day

I am 56 years old. And to this day, I can remember my first job as an account executive in a direct response advertising company. I remember our “team” landing a huge new client and being treated to a night out at a popular Boston bar in the basement of a hotel. The dance music beat loudly as my co-workers and I hit the dance floor and savored the free drinks and appetizers.

I was enjoying myself up until the moment my boss, aptly named Dick, sauntered up to me and leaned into my ear. “So,” he said calmly, “do you want to dance or do you want to go upstairs and f*** our brains out?”

Today, I am a former 4-term mayor. In the last election cycle, I had a man that I have never met call me a “c**t” in social media.

It shouldn’t take this long to understand that we, as a gender, are perfectly capable of achieving and succeeding in this world. We’re not asking for the chance to show anyone. Because we’ve done it.

So today is Women’s Equality Day.

But so will be tomorrow. And the next day, and the next.

Because my daughter should never, ever have to hear the crap I’ve heard.

Author: jillswain

Mayor Advertising consultant Mom Rec league girls' volleyball coach Champion of all things Huntersville, North Carolina

Leave a Reply

