A Birthday Message for Ally

My dear Ally,

Today is your birthday and you know I send you love and hugs and silly faces. Because you are very much like me in so many ways, I want to share with you what life ahead will be for you.

Rich. Full of love. Full of adventure and surrounded by people you will come to adore. You will meet people and develop friendships that you never anticipated and yet, you will realize that your heart is fuller because of them.

Weeks ago, I mentioned to you that you are so like me that I knew you were someone who likes to write the script for your life and the roles that you want people to play in your life. I tried to tell you to brace yourself, because sometimes the script doesn’t always get played the way you want. I struggled to tell you that because at the time, I was having to rewrite the current “act” in my life’s screenplay and I found it emotionally draining to not be in a world where I called the shots.

That will happen to you. I know it because I see so much of me in you. But what I want you to know is that it will all be for a reason. You may not always have the control or the lead role that for us is comforting. You may not always know when the curtain is going to come down, but you are in the midst of an extraordinary story that is worth every unsure moment.

There will be beauty ahead, and tears, and gray days and lots of roses and I wish someone had told the 16 year old me long ago, that every step ahead simply was leading to more delight.

In fact, dear Ally, I never would have thought to write a character in my own script that would have been so much like me…and yet you appeared.

And my story, my life, is that much better.

Happy happy birthday to you.

Author: jillswain

Former Mayor Chamber of Commerce Exec. Director Advertising consultant Mom and spouse (30 years and counting!) Rec league girls' volleyball coach Champion of all things Huntersville, North Carolina

One thought on “A Birthday Message for Ally”

  1. I have no idea how I got so lucky to find you but I did…thank you for everything. I can’t wait to consistently bother you for the next 100 years (that’s how long you’ll live)

Leave a Reply

