A Touching Thought (Reflections on an Airplane)

It frightens me sometimes, to think that I am over the halfway point of my life. The younger days of wondering what was in store for me in my adult years have morphed into spending time reflecting on all the experiences I’ve had. I don’t actually have a bucket list, simply because I want to be open to whatever may happen.
Someone mentioned to me recently that I have said I “love” a lot of people. And I do. I love them because they have made an impact on my life. And this from the girl who spent an entire weekend in high school wondering when the perfect moment would be to tell my dad “I love you.”
We wait too long to tell people their value and in doing so, we run a risk of missing a chance to make our own hearts feel good. Today, as I walked through the city of “b.s.” (Washington DC ), I stopped to tell a police officer that I felt the need to tell him he was appreciated. His reaction was telling — it wasn’t something he heard very often, if at all. The man who was raking leaves on the sidewalk by the Museum of Modern Art thanked me twice when I told him that I knew people were appreciative of his efforts. A cab driver from Ethiopia gave me tips on what to order when I chose to experience my first Ethiopian restaurant.
I am on my cell phone often, on social media, reading news and emails and texts. It is when I consciously put my phone away and look up and out and make eye contact that my world gets richer. The contact with the people with whom I share this earth is a joy to me.
(Ok….most people.) We like to have people offer to take our pictures for us in front of a landmark, to have someone watch our bag at the airport so we can run to the restroom, to talk to another person in the checkout lane…because at our core, we are a social species.

I have hugged, laughed, simply touched a person on the arm and felt connected. It is these simple things that have been passing moments or have lead to lasting relationships.

I have so many more relationships to start. And I am only halfway there.

3 thoughts on “A Touching Thought (Reflections on an Airplane)

  1. Jill – Although we haven’t seen each other in many years, you should know that your spirit made an impression on my life. You always made me laugh. Thank you for that gift!

    1. I hope you know the feeling has always been mutual. Even now, just thinking about you and gingerbread men/women and other memories, I’m smiling. 🙂 I wish we could see each other again sometime….

Leave a Reply

