Candidacy Speech – July 2, 2013

When ABB hosted their ribbon cutting here in Huntersville, I was honored to be asked to make a speech. My speech was simple: I noted the number of people, of differing ideologies, representing different organizations, who came together for a common purpose – to provide jobs and economic diversity to our community. And, I said that in today’s political climate, we should be held up as an example of people coming together for the common good.

Shortly after we cut the ribbon, Speaker of the House Tillis asked me if I might be interested in running for his seat, since he would not be running again for State office. I told him I was just the type of person that he didn’t want – because I made it a point to listen to ALL viewpoints and didn’t always follow the party line, because I believed other parties had good ideas, too.  Speaker Tillis said at the time that I was exactly the type of person he saw representing this area….and I found that to be an extraordinary compliment.

That conversation has been on my mind for nearly six months and because filing for the Huntersville Town Board is this month, I’ve decided to make an announcement today.

I have loved being part of Huntersville’s growth. As a Town Board member, and as Mayor, I’ve been front and center for many of the exciting things that have happened as our Town has blossomed. It hasn’t always been easy, it hasn’t always been pleasant, but it has been worth it.

I often say that there is a difference between a politician and a public servant. I prefer to think of myself as a public servant – my aspirations are not for greater pay or greater exposure, but with the hope that perhaps my involvement can make a positive difference.

That said, I’m announcing today that I am running for another term as Mayor of the Town of Huntersville, because here is where I believe I can make a difference. It is at the local level that I believe we can make changes without being hamstrung to fundraising efforts; it is at the local level where I am not stopped from representing the citizens who voted for me due to party caucus requirements or pressures and it is at the local level where my neighbors hold me accountable every single day at the grocery store, the park or in my driveway. It is here where I can stand up for the rights of our citizens, stand up for the rights of our towns and look beyond our borders for regional partners and the potential for economic development internationally.

Public service is not a job that will provide a person with a healthy bank account, but it is at the local level, I believe, where countless riches abide. It has been my honor to be Mayor and I hope the voters will allow me to do so again for the next two years. Huntersville is where my heart is.

7 thoughts on “Candidacy Speech – July 2, 2013

  1. We are so greatful that you have decided to stay here .

    It iis very selfish of us to want to keep
    you, but you have done such a great job for all of us!

    Let us know what is next, and how we can
    help.

  2. This is the greatest new that there could be!!!
    In this time of lip service and no service I wish all of our goverment officals were as honnest and commited to the people as Jill is. People of Huntersville we are truly blessed th have Jill,lets make sure we leep her in office!

    Much Success,
    Chuck and Vicki Shallish

  3. Dear Jill,

    I am delighted, and immensely relieved, by your announcement (and restatement of your philosophy). You have been stellar as Mayor and a lot of what Huntersville has become is due to your efforts and perspective. I’ve forgotten who said it, but there’s a famous quote: “All politics are local!” and that’s certainly the case here.

    Rest assured that you’ll have Jackie’s and my total support in the upcoming election… and thanks again for your renewal of dedication to the town!

    Warmest regards, Mike and Jackie Harvey

  4. “Public service is not a job that will provide a person with a healthy bank account, but it is at the local level, I believe, where countless riches abide.” Great, true thought. And a terrific speech and personal mission.

    Good luck on your re-election!

    1. This announcement although I had a doctor’s appointment is truly great news for the city of Huntersville. Jill has done more and worked harder than any previous mayors we have ever known. She has brought business to the area and with it a multitude of jobs for Huntersville.Its totally a blessing and most of all for my wife and I, she is our friend No.. 1 and neighbor. We are behind her 100 %. She most definitely will have our total backing.

Leave a Reply

