Some Photos Start with Negatives

On this particular fall morning, Huntersville’s Fox and Hound was sponsoring a 5K Charity Run for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital. Midas Spring Water, Huntersville’s “treasure”, had signed up as a sponsor, and needed someone to pass out flyers, sell water and talk about Midas. I reached out to my daughter, who said she’d make the time.

I helped her get set up, bought us each a Starbucks to start our day and in my typical fashion, tried to open a gate with my foot, while carrying two coffees and a bag of Midas flyers. My foot got stuck in the gate, my coffee spilled down my shirt, in my shirt and well, everywhere else.

I lamented, of course, how I’d started my day, as I left my daughter to her morning and raced home to change my shirt and then get to volleyball, where I had a very tight morning scheduled. I had a 9:30 game with my 9-11 year old team and then a 10:15 game at a different gym with my 12-13 year old team, and I was worried about coverage.

When I parked my car at volleyball, I texted my daughter to let her know that I loved her. I collected my notebook for the lineup, picked up a pen and headed to the gym. The weather was beautiful, my shirt was clean, but I still smelled that good Starbucks coffee smell and suddenly I felt like letting everyone in the world know that I was happy. So I stopped in the middle of the parking lot, reached for my cell phone to put up a Facebook notice….and couldn’t find my phone.

I trekked back to my car and looked everywhere, under the seat, in the glove compartment, in my purse, under the tires. I enlisted the help of the family that parked next to me, hoping they would not think I was crazy. After all, I DID just text my daughter!

And we gave up. I gave up on letting everyone know how I loved my life. I gave up on finding my phone. I gave up on the prospects for a good Saturday. I threw up my hands and headed back into the gym.

And there, in the middle of the parking lot, with the tires of two passing vans barely clearing it, was my cell phone…. I picked it up, delighted, and walked into the first game. My young girls won.

And my older girls won.

And the sun stayed bright that day. And the day after….

Someone just sent me the picture of that morning, where so many things started to go wrong. And as I look at this, and my lovely, soon-to-be-college-bound daughter, I think how lucky I am to have had that morning, and so many others.

When I look at this picture, I realize how incredibly blessed I am to have all those moments — crazy and sedate. As I recall those times, the pictures in my mind’s eye start to develop and they are all beautiful and meaningful snapshots of a wonderful life.

Author: jillswain

Mayor Advertising consultant Mom Rec league girls' volleyball coach Champion of all things Huntersville, North Carolina

1 thought on “Some Photos Start with Negatives”

Leave a Reply

