Happy Valentine’s Day…Every Day

I moved to Boston shortly after my college graduation. I’d been a midwesterner my entire life and the move to Boston was huge for me. My first apartment was in a transitional neighborhood in the center of the city and I had to climb several flights of stairs in a private residence to the top floor where I shared a bathroom/laundry room with several other tenants, none of whom spoke English.

But I quickly made a list of things I wanted to do in Boston, so that I wouldn’t let life pass me by — whale watching, hang gliding, visiting the USS Constitution, walking the Freedom Trail….  I neglected to list the one thing I truly wanted to experience: Falling in love.

My new co-workers quickly became my dearest friends, and they encouraged me to move out of my top floor room into a more exciting community. I found a singles apartment complex that had a list of people looking for roommates and soon moved in with two other women. Our apartment sat on a hill and our kitchen window overlooked the parking lot, where we could “scope” the handsome single men coming home from work.

So on Valentine’s Day, this dreamy single woman living her dream of working in Boston and attacking her list of “to do’s”, looked out the kitchen window in the morning and saw a note tucked into the windshield of her car.

As I quickly readied for work, my imagination went wild: Could some romantic gentleman have seen me carefully parking my Toyota Corolla next to the dumpster (so no one would park on that side of me) and appreciated how much I cared for my car? Could he have been waiting for Valentine’s Day to write me a note asking me to dinner or to simply say he was a secret admirer? Could THIS be the story I’d tell our children years from now about how we met?

It was all I could do not to run down the stairs to grab the note that held the words of my future upon it.

With a bit of a dramatic flair, I feigned surprise as I reached my car and took the note from its place. “Hey, Bitch, you took two parking spots. Move your car.”

May your Valentine’s Day be entertaining and filled with anticipation. You don’t need this one day to feel the love — you have it every day. Hugs to you all.

Author: jillswain

Mayor Advertising consultant Mom Rec league girls' volleyball coach Champion of all things Huntersville, North Carolina

Leave a Reply

