I Want To Quit….

…but Marvin Terrell Dixie won’t let me.  Marvin is a personal trainer who told me during the Fall Into Huntersville festival that he’d like to work with me. I told Marvin the truth:  I was a trainer’s worst nightmare. I told him how I had asked another trainer for one exercise to tone my stomach muscles and the well-intentioned trainer gave me two exercises, so…I quit.  Exercise overload freaks me out.  I have also told Marvin that I believe that carrying a full laundry basket up a flight of stairs is considered lifting weights, and that candy corn is a vegetable and good for you, since candy has no cholesterol. Marvin reads my texts to him and tells me to keep sending them, because he can easily delete them.  I think he’s on to me.

I made a pinkie promise with Marvin that I would give it a try, and although I stalled for nearly three weeks, I showed up for my first appointment. And, as I had predicted, I was a wimp. Of course, I didn’t handle it well when Marvin asked me if I’d ever watched the “Biggest Loser” TV show. I thought he was hinting, but he was actually referring to some of the equipment on the show that Marvin has as well.

But one of Marvin’s co-workers said something to me early on that made an impact, too.  When I said that I was an exercise quitter, he said, “You’re not a quitter at other things, are you?”, and I realized that no, I am not.

None of us really like to quit. We may avoid trying something, however, because we are afraid to fail, and it has probably taken me decades to realize that I needed to try this committed exercise thing, because by not trying, I was failing myself.

Let’s face it, these are not the best economic times for businesses. And there are challenges that can be costly for any business. But there are things we all can try that might be out of our comfort zone, or not in the “how to succeed” rule books.

Of course, I advocate for Huntersville Connection. I have been to countless businesses, handing my business cards, giving out the Facebook page information and the HuntersvilleConnection@gmail.com email address. I tell business owners about the monthly meetings, how the membership is free and how partnerships evolve between some of the most unusual businesses.

And still, some business owners have yet to connect. Their involvement will only strengthen the rest of the group, while helping them get to know other people in the community that share the same challenges.

Reach out to your fellow businesses. Let them know of Huntersville Connection. After all, this is an “exercise” in community partnerships, and with one effort at a time, we will all become stronger. Marvin, I believe, will be proud.

Author: jillswain

Former Mayor Chamber of Commerce Exec. Director Advertising consultant Mom and spouse (30 years and counting!) Rec league girls' volleyball coach Champion of all things Huntersville, North Carolina

Leave a Reply

