It’s All About Balance

Today is my birthday, so please indulge me.

As you may or may not know, my role as Mayor of the Town of Huntersville has been a privilege for me. In between board meetings and campaign seasons, I have had the honor of being a part of some wonderful events, meetings and festivities and have gotten to meet many of the fantastic citizens in our area. There is no possible way the local papers would have any interest in writing about the joy I get out of giving the second graders from Long Creek who come to Town Hall the chance to sit at the dais and practice voting on how to make Huntersville a better place to live. Or about the privilege I have of making proclamations for birthdays of our 100 year old citizens. Nor will anyone ever see any headlines about the chuckles we sometimes have in our board meetings, simply because we all agree and we enjoy making progress.

So as we enter another campaign season, I have already been told that if I am to garner the Republican vote in our non-partisan race, I should not post any photos of me with Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx. And if I am to garner the Democrat vote, I should not post any photos of me with former Charlotte Mayor Pat McCrory. Both of whom I get along with very well. But I believe it’s all about balance. When the State legislature threatened the receipt of the federal high speed rail money, a project that would have affected the progress of both the Blue Line light rail extension and our own Red Line commuter rail, Mayor Foxx reached out to Davidson Mayor John Woods and myself. In our phone conversation, I suggested that Mayor Foxx contact former Mayor McCrory, because in fact, rail was a passion of Mayor McCrory’s as well. To me, this was a prime opportunity to show that some issues go way beyond party lines, especially when you talk about the economic development and growth of our combined communities. The conversation between the two men occurred and progress continues.

Because I started this blog originally as an opportunity to get Huntersville Connection off to a running start, to generate discussion and to encourage partnerships, I want those who are active in Huntersville Connection to know this: The relationships that you all have built over the past year are significant, unusual in most communities and there is the tremendous potential to do so much more. But here too, it is all about balance: What will work for you may not work for the next business, but your openness to meeting new people, talking with your competitors and taking advantage of new opportunities will not only benefit your bottom line, but will benefit the community as a whole.

We’ve watched the chaos in Washington, D.C. lately and I fervently believe that Huntersville is not the place for that. Because we are neighbors and partners in our community’s success, it is imperative that we do our best to erase those lines that can cause us to halt our progress.

Balance. Cooperation.

These things make our lives simpler and better. Those are my birthday wishes.

Leave a Reply

