A Good Deed is NOT Like Pulling Teeth

I will admit it, I am a bit of a martyr.  I think it comes with motherhood (my mom is probably reading this now and ready with a “I told you so” email). You know our type:  We postpone our own doctor’s appointments because something came up with the kids, we don’t spend a lot on our haircuts, because the budget is tight, we don’t have things like root canals because we’re afraid the family can’t survive if we’re recuperating for a day….

…Until the dentist tells us we HAVE to have a root canal, as my dentist did last Thursday. I’d gone in for my fairly-regular cleaning and knew my wonderful dentist was going to chide me for a third time about a back tooth that he’d been watching and wanted me to take care of. “I don’t have the money” has been my excuse….and now that my husband and I are both looking for gainful employment, well, it’s not an excuse anymore.

So Thursday I find out that the root canal is a must AND that my dentist is on vacation this week AND this is the last week I’ll have dental insurance. The ultimate bad trifecta.

On my way out of Dr. Vaughan’s office, I encountered another patient, Adam, who had brought in a porfolio of his graphic design work to show Dr. Vaughan. As I looked at this talented body of work, I told Adam to email me and I would connect him with some people at the Arts and Science Council who could talk to him about artist groups and potential grant opportunities.

So when Dr. Vaughan called me on Friday to tell me that his friend Dr. Wells had agreed to see me and perform the root canal on Monday, I mentioned to him that I was hooking Adam up with some arts people.

Turns out that Dr. Vaughan sent me to the best possible guy for root canals — done within an hour with no swelling and bruising and very, very patient to a woman who suddenly developed a bit of claustrophobia.

And it meant a lot to Dr. Vaughan that I helped a patient of his that he had seen for years and watched as he grew up with extraordinary talent.

There is definitely something to the “pay it forward” concept.

Now I need to do something for Dr. Wells…..

Author: jillswain

Former Mayor Chamber of Commerce Exec. Director Advertising consultant Mom and spouse (30 years and counting!) Rec league girls' volleyball coach Champion of all things Huntersville, North Carolina

Leave a Reply

