The Value of Having a Sense of Humor

I have been completely blessed in my life to be continually surrounded by good people. People who are have kind hearts, who know the importance of thinking of others, and people who have a sense of humor.  I just visited one of our Huntersville Connection members in the hospital and her attitude was one of optimism, despite having a surgery that could have left her devastated. From my own personal experience, I know that her ability to laugh will lead her to a faster recovery. I look forward to seeing her at our next meeting.

People respond to smiles. People respond to a sense of humor and people — customers and prospective customers — will remember that YOU made them smile.

Harper, Kansas is a place I hold very dear to my heart, as it was my home away from home when my grandmother was alive.  As a teenager, if I would get down about something, it would be my grandmother who believed that a chocolate shake would make me happier or a game of Old Maid could make me smile. We’d drive the dirt roads to watch the wheat on her land being harvested and laugh about silly things until I didn’t realize why I was crabby in the first place.

In the midst of one of the worst droughts the midwest has seen in a very long time and after a very disappointing wheat harvest, due to the weather, I just received the following email from Harper, Kansas. I hope it makes you smile.

IT’S SO HOT AND DRY in Harper, KS…..the birds have to use
potholders to pull the worms out of the ground.
          ….the trees are whistling for the dogs.
          ….the best parking place is determined by shade instead of distance.
          ….hot water comes from both taps.
          ….you can make sun tea instantly.
          ….you learn that a seat belt buckle makes a pretty good
         branding iron.
          ….the temperature drops below 95 F (35 C) and you feel a little chilly.
          ….you discover that in July it only takes two fingers to
         steer your car.
          ….you discover that you can get sunburned through your car window.
          ….you actually burn your hand opening the car door.
          ….you break into a sweat the instant you step outside at
          7:30 A.M.
          ….your biggest motorcycle wreck fear is, “What if I get
          knocked out and end up lying on the pavement and get cooked to death?”
          ….you realize that asphalt has a liquid stage.
          ….the potatoes cook underground, so all you have to do is pull one out and add butter.
          ….the cows are giving evaporated milk.
          ….farmers are feeding their chickens crushed ice to keep them from laying boiled eggs.
          IT’S SO DRY in Harper, the Baptists are starting to baptize by sprinkling,
          The Methodists are using wet-wipes,
          Presbyterians are giving rain checks,

          And the Catholics are praying for the wine to turn to water.

 

Author: jillswain

Former Mayor Chamber of Commerce Exec. Director Advertising consultant Mom and spouse (30 years and counting!) Rec league girls' volleyball coach Champion of all things Huntersville, North Carolina

Leave a Reply

